2021 March Photo Challenge: Photo Painting

I wasn’t sure I would be able to meet this month’s challenge. In late February I had shoulder surgery on my right arm. And cameras, other than the one in my cell phone, require the use of your right arm, which also happens to be my dominant arm. Needless to say, March was an interesting month.

While I had hoped to be able to experiment in camera, I ended up brushing up on my Photoshop skills using photos I had taken earlier this year. It took me a while how to remember to use the filters. At first the option was greyed out. But with Google’s help, I was able to convert the photo into 8-bit and then I had some fun with two photos. The one with the ice waves I used the Craquelure filter.

For the photo I took of the Christmas lights near the War Memorial, I used the Oil Paint filter and Light Flare. When I captured the image with my Sony WX-500, the blurry chain rope in the foreground felt annoying. But in post-production, I thought it would add mystery. I like that you can’t really take the perspective. It’s like an abstract painting. Well, at least to me it is.

The third photo was ice on the river and I made adjustments in Lightroom. I wish I had taken a photo of the melting ice I had seen by the road. The camera on my new cell phone is pretty good. Maybe by next month, I will include some imshrd taken with in.

Leave a comment