2022 Photo Challenge Week 4: Wildlife

Oops, I’m a bit late posting, but not because I didn’t have my photos ready. I still can’t believe how many times I went outside during extreme cold warnings in the past week. Like really cold.

When I snowshoed with the group up to Healey Cabin in the Gatineau Park, I knew I would stop there and send them on to Herridge. The extra time would let me photograph the birds at the feeder. When I started, I positioned myself on the sunny side of the feeder to get the best light. As I waited for the birds to arrive, I moved around a bit trying to stay warm. Each time I moved, the birds scattered. So I sat down on the bench to drink my tea and have a chocolate. And the birds all returned. My camera bag was on the other bench, so I retrieved it and watched and waited. So many bluejays arrived, and one woodpecker. I love how birds puff up to stay warm when it’s cold outside.

I was happy with some of the photos, but decided to visit Mud Lake to see what else I could find. It was another extreme cold warning day, and I was disappointed to only see a few squirrels on the way in. I walked for about 20 minutes, then turned around. Luckily I could hear a woodpecker and then I saw him and was able to photograph his hard work of making holes. The squirrels were still waiting for me by the road and were very obliging.

My third trip was along the Rideau River, where I saw the cardinal in Windsor Park and then the ducks by Bank Street. I went out a few other times, also in the cold, but learned that morning is definitely the best time. Except for the cold.

They aren’t all perfect, but I think each one tells a story. I hope you enjoy them as much as I liked capturing them.

One thought on “2022 Photo Challenge Week 4: Wildlife

Leave a comment