Photo Challenge Week 8: Night

When I was determining the themes for each week, I tried to make it as easy as possible for what I thought would be happening in my life. Like “love” during the week of Valentines. During Week 8, I was in three different locations and was able to capture different aspects of life in the dark with three different cameras.

The night scene of the village of Sankt Anton am Arlberg was taken with my DSC-WX500 and a tiny tripod that I got out of a Costco Christmas cracker years ago. I set the camera to manual and 3-second timer, put 30 seconds in the exposure and voila! I debated photoshopping out the hydro wires, but decided to leave them in.

On our last evening, we had supper at the top of the street at Robi’s Rodelstall. It’s such a great place to eat, although the atmosphere had changed. I hadn’t remembered to bring my camera at supper, so I used my Samsung phone. I’m amazed by the picture quality on night captures. And it was a great way to remember our last night.

There was one more photo I took with my camera. On the way to Munich, I discovered that Lufthansa offers live camera views from three cameras set up on the outside of the plane. As we approached Montreal Airport, my husband asked me where to find them in the entertainment system. A freezing rain event was happening below and I was a bit nervous to keep watching through the cameras. So I turned mine off. But when the landing gear went down and entered the picture, I quickly leaned over and grabbed a pic from his screen. Not the greatest quality, but one more reason to fly Lufthansa. And at least we knew the landing gear was down.

The last two photographs were captured with my Sony A-6600 and my new Tamron 18-300mm lens. I brought along the gorilla pod and my man (for security so I could focus on photography).

These two photos are at Lansdowne Park. I love the old cattle castle … er Aberdeen Pavilion. And it was a lot less crowded than our last visit during the Christmas Market. In fact, the skating rink was eerily quiet and lonely. But it made it a lot easier to set up the camera and not have unwanted people appear in the scene. I probably could have taken away some of the yellow in these photos, but I like it from an artistic perspective.

Hope you enjoy the photos. They warm my heart. Next week I will be looking for light.

One thought on “Photo Challenge Week 8: Night

Leave a comment