Week 30: Immobility

This week’s challenge was difficult to wrap my head around. Am I looking for things that can’t move? Or just aren’t moving in the moment I capture them?

Traffic on the Queensway on the Friday afternoon of the start of the August long weekend. Lots of immobility there. In both directions. Take out Samsung cell phone and check box: immobility.

On one of our paddles around Lac à la truite, I waited until my husband had paddled away and waited for the water to become still again. The perfect reflection of a water lily. Captured with my Sony DSC-WX500.

Since our cat was feeling a bit left out of the blog, I posed him on top of the immovable rock at the cottage. He sat there completely still, hoping a bird would land on him, thinking he was a rock. He only closed his eyes occasionally trying to hide the colour of his eyes. Photo taken with my Sony A-6600.

Then I realized it’s hard to find immobility when you are constantly moving. So I sat down in a few places in the cottage garden and just observed. I found a frog that almost blended in completely with its surroundings and a grasshopper hiding in a plant. Both sat still, patiently waiting for the focus beeps of the Sony A-6600 to be finished.

Leave a comment